Coaches and Directors

Reno APEX Soccer Club strives to provide the highest level training possible for our young players.  Our Directors have assembled a “Professional Quality” coaching staff that is beyond compare in Northern Nevada.  Many of our coaches bring experience across all levels of soccer: including the professional game, Olympic Development Programs, and some of the most respected Collegiate Programs in country.

Randy Ritter (President and Co-Founder) Great Basin Youth Soccer League President.  Former League Commissioner and Director of Northern Nevada Olympic Development Program.

Heather Johnson (Vice-President , Co-Founder & Boys Director) USSF B License in progress.

Rob Range (Executive Director) USSF C License.  Former Co-Director Northern Nevada Olympic Development Program and Nevada Youth Soccer Association Vice President.

Vanessa Mann (Director of Coaching) USSF A License, US Soccer Youth National Team Scout, Assistant Coach for US Women’s U15 National Team, US Soccer Coach Educator.  Formerly Head Coach at University of Maryland Baltimore County, Assistant Coach at William and Mary, Technical Director at Oregon Youth Soccer Association, and Co-Founder of Legacy Football Club.

Jen Mavis (Assistant Director of Coaching) USSF B License.  Formerly Assistant Coach and Head of Camps at University of Maryland Baltimore County, Goalkeeper Coach at William and Mary,  Manager of ODP at Oregon Youth Soccer Association, and Co-Founder of Legacy Football Club.

Marco Merlo (Technical Director & Girls Director) USSF A License, USSF Coach Instructor, Head Coach Bishop Manogue High School, Former Director of Coaching at Nevada United and Sagebrush Soccer Clubs, Northern Nevada ODP Coach.

Our professional staff is complemented by a dedicated team of volunteer and part-time coaches.

Our team head coaches include:

Josh Backman (USSF D), Julie Backman, Mark Dewald (USSF D), Laura Dubach, Julio Espinoza (USSF D), Steve Estipona (USSF C), Tristan Estipona (USSF C), Josh Etchegoyen (USSF C), Mike Faker (USSF C), Rodney Helsel (USSF C), Steve Heyder (USSF D, UEFA C), David Hofman (USSF F), Josh James (USSF D), Marco Lamaestra, Rafa Madariaga, Itai Nemovicher (USSF D), Taylor O’Harra (USSF D), Carlos Rivera (USSF F), Ryan Ruppert (USSF C), Myles Stoddard (USSF C), Sarah Torricelli (USC National Diploma), Federico Urbano, Roman Urbano (USSF Grass Roots), Peter Wallstrum (USSF C).